ASU shut out on All-Pac-10 first team - East Valley Tribune: Sports

ASU shut out on All-Pac-10 first team

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, December 8, 2008 5:36 pm | Updated: 9:37 pm, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

Arizona State, coming off its first losing season since 2003, did not place anyone on the All-Pac-10 first team in balloting by the league’s coaches.

ASU notebook: Carpenter undergoes knee surgery

Wide receiver Michael Jones and defensive back Troy Nolan were the only Sun Devils picked to the second team. Jones had a team-best 61 catches for 744 yards and four touchdowns this season. Nolan collected 64 tackles, four interceptions and a fumble recovery on the year, and also scored three touchdowns.

Oregon State running back Jacquizz Rodgers was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year. He rushed for 1,253 yards and 11 touchdowns, and became the first freshman in conference history to be named offensive player of the year.

USC middle linebacker Rey Maualugo is the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year. Maualugo, a first-team pick for the third straight year, anchors a Trojans defense that leads the Pac-10 in every major statistical category.

Mike Riley of Oregon State was named Coach of the Year after the Beavers went 8-4 and finished second in the Pac-10. Oregon State had the fewest returning starters in the Pac-10 entering the season and was picked to finish seventh in the conference.

USC placed the most players on the first team with eight (including five on the 12-member defensive team). Oregon and Oregon State had five first-teamers each, and Arizona and California each had four.

Eight ASU players received honorable-mention All-Pac-10 honors: quarterback Rudy Carpenter, defensive end Dexter Davis, defensive tackle Lawrence Guy, offensive linemen Shawn Lauvao, linebacker Mike Nixon, defensive end Luis Vasquez, kicker Thomas Weber and kick returner Kyle Williams.


First Team Offense                                           Second Team Offense

QB Mark Sanchez, Jr., USC                              QB Willie Tuitama, Sr., Arizona

RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Fr., Oregon State        RB Toby Gerhart, Jr., Stanford

RB Jahvid Best, So., California                        RB Jeremiah Johnson, Sr., Oregon

WR Mike Thomas, Sr., Arizona                         WR Patrick Turner, Sr., USC

WR Sammie Stroughter, Sr., Oregon State   WR Michael Jones, Sr., Arizona State

TE Rob Gronkowski, So., Arizona                    TE Ed Dickson, Jr., Oregon

OL Alex Mack, Sr., California                             TE Ryan Moya, Jr., UCLA

OL Andy Levitre, Sr., Oregon State                  OL Alex Fletcher, Sr., Stanford

OL Max Unger, Sr., Oregon                               OL Adam Speer, Sr., Oregon State

OL Eben Britton, Jr., Arizona                             OL Fenuki Tupou, Sr., Oregon

OL Ben Muth, Sr., Stanford                               OL Jeff Byers, Sr., USC

OL Kristofer O'Dowd, So., USC                       OL Noris Malele, Sr., California

First Team Defense                                          Second Team Defense

DL Nick Reed, Sr., Oregon                              DL Tyson Alualu, Jr., California

DL Fili Moala, Sr., USC                                     DL Daniel Te'o-Nesheim, Jr., Washington

DL Brian Price, So., UCLA                               DL Brigham Harwell, Sr., UCLA

DL Victor Butler, Sr., Oregon State                 DL Clay Matthews, Sr., USC

LB Brian Cushing, Sr., USC                            LB Kaluka Maiava, Sr., USC

LB Rey Maualuga, Sr., USC                            LB Keaton Kristick, Jr., Oregon State

LB Zack Follett, Sr., California                        LB Reggie Carter, Jr., UCLA

DB Kevin Ellison, Sr., USC                             DB Alterraun Verner, Jr., UCLA

DB Syd'Quan Thompson, Jr., California      DB Brandon Hughes, Sr., Oregon State

DB Taylor Mays, Jr., USC                                DB Troy Nolan, Sr., Arizona State

DB Jairus Byrd, Jr., Oregon                            DB Greg Laybourn, Sr., Oregon State

DB Patrick Chung, Sr., Oregon                      DB Devin Ross, Jr., Arizona

First Team Specialists                                   Second Team Specialists

PK David Buehler, Sr., USC                           PK Kai Forbath, So., UCLA

P Aaron Perez, Sr., UCLA                               P Bryan Anger, Fr., California

KOR James Rodgers, So., Oregon State   KOR Terrence Austin, Jr., UCLA

PR Mike Thomas, Sr., Arizona                       PR Sammie Stroughter, Sr., Oregon State

ST Patrick Chung, Sr., Oregon                      ST Wopamo Osaisai, Sr., Stanford

ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)

Offensive Player of the Year: Jacquizz Rodgers, TB, Fr., Oregon State

Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year: Rey Maualuga, MLB, Sr., USC

Freshman of the Year: Jacquizz Rodgers, TB, Oregon State

Coach of the Year: Mike Riley, Oregon State

  • Discuss

EVT Ice Bucket Challenge

The East Valley Tribune accepts the Ice Bucket Challenge.

Your Az Jobs