Mesa mayor runoff headlines EV elections - East Valley Tribune: News

Mesa mayor runoff headlines EV elections

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, May 19, 2008 10:59 pm | Updated: 9:40 pm, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

Voters in Mesa and Tempe will head to the polls today to decide several top city leadership positions.

Mesa mayoral hopefuls spell out positions

In Mesa, residents will select a new mayor in a runoff between candidates Scott Smith and Rex Griswold.

The winning candidate will replace Keno Hawker, who has led the city for eight years. Interest in the election has been high, with more than 40,000 early ballots returned as of Friday.

Also in Mesa, voters of District 5 in east Mesa will decide a runoff between City Council candidates Phil Austin and Dina Higgins. Nearly 11,000 early votes have been submitted in that race. If elected, Higgins will be the only woman on the newly seated council. Claudia Walters will vacate her seat.

If Austin prevails, he would become Mesa’s first Hispanic council member.

Those who have yet to turn in their early ballots can do so in person at any polling site today no later than 7 p.m.

In Tempe, residents also head to the polls to decide an at-large runoff for two City Council seats. The four candidates jostling for the positions are Julie Jakubek, Joel Navarro, Corey Woods and incumbent Hut Hutson, currently the vice mayor.

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter

Google+ on Google+


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs