Council members leading Carefree race - East Valley Tribune: Phoenix & The Valley Of The Sun

Council members leading Carefree race

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 9, 2005 9:48 am | Updated: 9:18 am, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

March 9, 2005

Carefree voters will return five of six incumbents to the Town Council if unofficial results of Tuesday’s primary hold up.

Neighboring Cave Creek, meanwhile, appears likely to add four new members to its seven-member Town Council.

“In a community that thrives on change, this is not surprising,” said Cave Creek Mayor Vincent Francia, who ran unopposed for a fourth consecutive two-year mayoral term.

Challengers Dick Esser, Kim Brennan and Thomas McGuire were the leading vote-getters in Cave Creek.

Challenger Ernie Bunch was tied with incumbent Gilbert Lopez. Incumbent Grace Meeth had enough votes to earn a fifth consecutive two-year council term, but incumbent Jay Williams was losing a bid for a second term.

Challenger Richard Corles also was falling short in his first council race.

In Carefree, Mayor Ed Morgan was the top vote-getter, followed by incumbents Bob Coady, Mike Eicher and Greg Gardner.

Challenger Gary Hayward was leading incumbent Lloyd Meyer by five votes, but both seemed to have enough votes to win a council seat.

Incumbent Wayne Fulcher was three votes behind challenger David Schwan.

Challengers Stephen Warsaw and Lyn Hitchon were running behind the others.

  • Discuss
Your Az Jobs