Here & Near (10/13) - East Valley Tribune: Ahwatukee Foothills

Here & Near (10/13)

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, October 12, 2010 9:30 am | Updated: 4:21 pm, Mon Oct 29, 2012.

Here: Join the 23rd annual Messiah Choir at SMCC

For the 23rd year, the South Mountain Community College Music Department is inviting singers from the community to be part of the SMCC holiday tradition of performing excerpts from Handel's Messiah.

Each year, the choir attracts 65 to 75 to voices, accompanied by a professional orchestra. Dr. Jerome K. Garrison Sr., SMCC Fine Arts faculty chair and Ahwatukee Foothills resident, will direct the concert. In the past, choir members have included area high school students, college students, church choir members and other amateur and professional singers.

Choir members who have performed Messiah must attend at least three rehearsals. First-time performers must audition and are required to attend all rehearsals.

To schedule an audition, contact Desiree Armijo at (602) 243-8382 or Dr. Garrison at (602) 243-8055.

The 23rd Annual Holiday Concert will begin at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 4, in the SMCC Performance Hall, 7050 S. 24th St.

Near: Star-studded concert series at Arizona State Fair

The 2010 Arizona State Fair Concert Series offers a star-studded lineup, and concerts will take place in the Veterans Memorial Coliseum at the state fairgrounds.

The all-star lineup includes the following confirmed concert dates and times: The B-52's (Morris Day & the Time opens), Saturday, Oct. 16, at 6 p.m.; The Script, Sunday, Oct. 17, at 7 p.m.; AIM presents Jason Derülo, Wednesday, Oct. 20, at 7 p.m.; Blake Shelton, Thursday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m.; Colbie Caillat, Friday, Oct. 22, at 7 p.m.; Bret Michaels Custom Built Tour 2010, Saturday, Oct. 23, at 7 p.m.; Selena Gomez, Sunday, Oct. 24, at 5 p.m.; Lynyrd Skynyrd, Thursday, Oct. 28, at 7 p.m.; Snoop Dogg, Friday, Oct. 29, at 7 p.m.; Godsmack with Five Finger Death Punch presented by 98 KUPD, Saturday, Oct. 30, at 6 p.m.; Arizona Derby Dames all girl roller derby, Sunday, Oct. 31, at 5 p.m. (free general admission seating only); Montgomery Gentry, Wednesday, Nov. 3, at 7 p.m.; Old School Jam featuring Midnight Star, Montel Jordan, Rob Base, Newcleus and Exposé, Friday, Nov. 5, at 8 p.m.; Megadeth, Saturday, Nov. 6, at 7 p.m.; and Miranda Cosgrove of iCarly fame, Sunday, Nov. 7, 5 p.m.

Reserved seating tickets for the diverse slate of Coliseum-rocking acts are now on sale. A separate Fair admission is required with all reserved seating tickets. General admission seating at the concerts is free with Fair admission on a first-come, first-served basis the day of the show.

Reserved seat tickets may be purchased at the Coliseum box office (walk-up only) and through Ticketmaster by calling 1-800-745-3000 or visiting ticketmaster.com. Reserved seat tickets do require the purchase of a separate Fair admission.

The 126th annual Arizona State Fair, running Oct. 15 to Nov. 7 (closed on Mondays and Tuesdays) hosts a variety of fun-filled attractions, activities and rides for all ages at its traditional location at 1826 West McDowell Road.

For more information, visit www.azstatefair.com.

More about

  • Discuss

Your Az Jobs