Six retain seats on Carefree council - East Valley Tribune: East Valley Local News

Six retain seats on Carefree council

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 12, 2005 6:27 am | Updated: 9:53 am, Fri Oct 7, 2011.

All six Carefree Town Council incumbents who ran for reelection retained their seats, while four new members will join neighboring Cave Creek’s council, according to final official results of Tuesday’s primary elections reported Friday.

Gary Hayward is the only candidate among four challengers to win a seat on Carefree’s seven-member council.

Carefree Mayor Ed Morgan was the top vote getter, followed by incumbents Bob Coady, Mike Eicher and Lloyd Meyer, Hayward and incumbents Greg Gardner and Wayne Fulcher.

Challengers David Schwan, Stephen Warsaw and Lyn Hitchon finished behind the others. Patsy Miller did not run for re-election.

Morgan will be serving a fifth consecutive two-year term. Each incumbent except Meyer has served two or more terms.

Just more than 43 percent of registered Carefree voters cast ballots.

In Cave Creek, 20 percent of registered voters went to the polls.

They elected challengers Dick Esser, Kim Brennan, Thomas McGuire and Ernie Bunch, and incumbents Gilbert Lopez and Grace Meeth.

Meeth will serve a fifth consecutive term, Lopez a fourth term.

Mayor Vincent Francia, who ran unopposed, will serve a fourth consecutive two-year mayoral term.

One-term incumbent Jay Williams and challenger Richard Corles fell short in their bids. Ralph Mozilo, Shea Stanfield and Terry Smith did not seek re-election.

May runoff elections won’t be needed since a sufficient number of candidates received enough votes to fill all the seats on both town councils.

Cave Creek, however, is putting four propositions on its May 17 general election ballot.

Voters will be asked to decide on a new general plan that includes a proposal to annex 10 square miles into the town, a $50 million bond program to build a water treatment plant, and expanding the mayor and council terms from two years to four years, with staggered terms.

Carefree totals:

Ed Morgan 717 Bob Coady 633 Mike Eicher 630 Lloyd Meyer 597 Greg Gardner 581 Gary Hayward 581 Wayne Fulcher 564 David Schwan 532 Stephen Warsaw 466 Lyn Hitchon 298

Cave Creek totals:

Vincent Francia 486 Dick Esser 440 Kim Brennan 407 Gilbert Lopez 394 Thomas McGuire 392 Ernie Bunch 390 Grace Meeth 340 Jay Williams 305 Richard Corles 249

Source: Maricopa County

Elections Office

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter

Google+ on Google+


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds

Your Az Jobs